Skip to main content

"By creating we think, by living we learn" Patrick Geddes

Main University menu

Job Vacancies

Templates Top-Level Menu

Deans of School / School Managers, and Directors of Professional Services

(Information as at June 2020)


School of Art and Design


Dean of School: Professor Anita Taylor

Associate Dean (International): Professor Mary Modeen

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Mrs Jacquelyn Malcolm

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Dr Frances Stevenson

Associate Dean, Research: Dr Shaleph O'Neill 

Associate Dean, Public & Community Engagement: Ms Janice Aitken

School Manager: Mrs Fiona Brown


School Structure

Communication Design
Contemporary Art Practice
Design and Craft
Social Digital
Art and Design Office


Back to top

School of Business


Dean of School: Professor Morris Altman

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching and Quality Assurance: Dr Elizabeth Monk

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Graeme Martin

Associate Dean, Student Recruitment: Professor Bill Russell

School Manager: Miss Rebecca Leiper

School Structure

Business Office
University of Dundee School of Business


Back to top

School of Dentistry


Dean of School: Professor Mark Hector

Associate Dean (International): Professor Peter Mossey

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching and Quality and Academic Standards: Dr Kevin Davey

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Janet Clarkson

Associate Deans, Professional Practice: Dr Andrew Hall and Professor Graham Chadwick

School Manager: Miss Lorraine Robertson

School Structure

Dentistry Office


Back to top

School of Education and Social Work


Dean of School: Professor Tim Kelly

Associate Dean (International): Dr Richard Ingram

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Jane Fenton

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Ms Carolyn McLennan

Associate Dean, Research (Acting): Professor Tim Kelly

School Manager: Mrs Grainne Barr

School Structure

Community Education
Social Work 
Education and Social Work Office


Back to top

School of Health Sciences


Interim Dean of School: Professor Lynn Kilbride

Associate Dean (International): Dr Emma Burnett

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Linda Martindale

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Dr Joan Cameron

Associate Dean, Research: Dr Elaine Lee

School Manager: Mrs Jennifer Donachie 

School Structure

Allied Health Sciences
Health Sciences Office


Back to top

School of Humanities


Dean of School: Professor Jim Livesey


Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Aliki Vargoli

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Dr Alan MacDonald

Associate Dean, Research: Dr Murray Frame

Associate Dean, International, Knowledge Exchange & Impact: Professor Chris Murray

School Manager: Grainne Barr

School Structure

History and Archive and Information Studies
Humanities Office


Back to top

School of Life Sciences


Dean of School: Professor Inke Nathke

Associate Dean (International): Dr Kim Dale

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Nicholas Brewer

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Professor Jenny Woof

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Claire Halpin


School Manager: Mrs Maggie Ogston

School Structure

Biological Chemistry and Drug Discovery
Biological Services
Cell and Developmental Biology
Cell Signalling and Immunology
Centre for Advanced Scientific Technologies
Computational Biology
D'Arcy Thompson Unit
Drug Discovery Unit
Gene Regulation and Expression
Geomicrobiology Group
Molecular Microbiology
National Phenotypic Screening Centre
Nucleic Acid Structure
Plant Sciences
Life Sciences Office

 Back to top

School of Medicine


Dean of School: Professor Rory McCrimmon

Associate Dean (International): 

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Stella Howden

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Professor Faisel Khan

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Colin Palmer

Associate Dean, Research Led Training: Professor Tim Hales

School Manager: Fiona Brown

School Structure

Cellular Medicine
Health and Clinical Services
Imaging Science and Technology
Molecular and Clinical Medicine
Population Health and Genomics
Postgraduate Medical Education
Systems Medicine
Undergraduate Medical Education
Medicine Office


Back to top

School of Science and Engineering


Dean of School: Professor José Fiadeiro

Associate Dean (International): Professor Zhihong Huang

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Dr Karen Petrie

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Mr Andrew Munns

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Amin Abdolvand

School Managers: Dr Dianne Peden

School Structure

Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification
Civil Engineering
Leverhulme Research Centre for Forensic Science
Biomedical Engineering
Mechanical & Electronic Engineering
Graduate Apprenticeship Programme
Science and Engineering Office


Back to top

School of Social Sciences


Dean of School: Professor Nicholas Fyfe

Associate Dean (International): Professor Peter McEleavy

Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching: Professor Graeme Hutton

Associate Dean, Quality & Academic Standards: Ms Janeth Warden-Fernandez

Associate Dean, Research: Professor Lorraine Van Blerk 

School Manager: Miss Rebecca Leiper

School Structure

Architecture and Urban Planning
Geography and Environmental Science
Politics and International Relations
Water Law
The Centre for Water Law Policy and Science
Social Sciences Office


Back to top

Professional Services

Academic and Corporate Governance


Director: Dr Neale Laker

Directorate Structure

Quality and Academic Standards
Global Partnerships
Doctoral Academy


Back to top

Estates and Campus Services


Director: Ms Rose Jenkins

Directorate Structure

Estates and Campus Services Office
Botanic Garden
Estates and Buildings
Precinct Services


Back to top

External Relations


Director: Mr Thomas Veit

Directorate Structure

External Relations Office
Access and Participation
Admissions and Applicant Experience
Creative Services
Development and Alumni Relations
Enquirer and Applicant Communications
Global Engagement and Recruitment
Marketing and Communications
Public Engagement and Major Events
Web Services


Back to top



Director: Ms Carol Prokopyszyn

Directorate Structure

Finance Office
Research Finance Services
Financial Accounting
Finance Business Partnering


Back to top

Human Resources and Organisational Development


Director: Mrs Pamela Milne

Directorate Structure

HR Office
Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
Human Resources
Organisational and Professional Development
Payroll and Pensions
Safety Services


Back to top

Library and Learning and Culture and Information


Director: Mr Richard Parsons

Directorate Structure

LLC and CI Office
Centre for Technology and Innovation in Learning
Culture and Information
Research and Resources
Service Delivery


Back to top

Research and Innovation


Interim Director: Dr Karen Sullivan

Directorate Structure

Research Development
Innovation and Operations


Back to top

Student Services


Director: Mr Graham Nicholson

Directorate Structure

Student Services Office
Enquiry Hub
Skills Hub
Support Hub
Institute of Sport and Exercise


 Back to top

University Executive Office


Director: Dr Jim McGeorge

Directorate Structure

Business Transformation
NHS Liaison
Strategic Planning


Back to top



Director: Dr Jonathan Monk

Directorate Structure

UoDIT Office
Business Services
End User Services
Security and Infrastructure and Research Computing 

Back to top